Winter Solstice

Happy Midwinters Solstice Folk , the days are going to start getting lighter and the excitement of spring on the horizon. I have plans to survey a few sites Cherry Hinton Chalk pit and Dunwich heath amongst the list. I will continue the garden survey.

This year I have thoroughly enjoyed my time at Cavenham heath and also enjoyed my interview at the Natural history museum even though I didn’t get the job but there is a big chance I will be heading back to Antarctica next winter … I hope you have enjoyed another years worth of posts on my blog ๐Ÿ™‚

5 thoughts on “Winter Solstice

  1. I always look forward to winter solstice because, while it is the beginning of winter, it’s also the demarcation for the days getting longer. The books say the worker bees know it and get the queen to start laying a few eggs again. It’s hard for me to believe the bees know the days are getting longer.
    Do you REALLY want to go back to Antarctica? What is the attraction?

    • Yes Antarctica is the most amazing place , I have adventure running through my veins and this is one adventure someone else pays for and the quote “”No person who has not spent a period of his life in those ‘stark and sullen solitudes that sentinel the Pole’ will understand fully what trees and flowers, sun-flecked turf and running streams mean to the soul of a man.” – Ernest Shackleton” is so true it makes you appreciate nature so much more
      … the attraction is adventure , the wildlife, the danger, the journey there .etc

  2. Looking forward to your surveys. The winter has been so unusually warm so far that it will be interesting to see how that affects the bees, hope they cope ok.

Comments are closed.